The London Blogger Interviews #30: Faded London

Many Londoner’s are fascinated with the city’s past and the glimpses of history on most streets. None more so than the brilliant Faded London, documenting “a city constantly re-inventing itself, but every now and then there’s a window on to the past..all worth recording before they are finally removed or hidden”. We’ve been wanting to talk to this London blogger for a while.

If you had to describe your blog in fewer than 15 words how would you do it?
A Walk On The Mild Side – Celebrating The London Others Rarely Bother With
Faded London.JPG
Why did you start blogging?
It’s all down to being given a digital camera one Christmas. After months of saying “I saw a really interesting drainpipe – coalhole – shop sign this morning” my bluff was called and I soon found myself with a load of photos that I wasn’t quite sure what to do with. A blog seemed a good way of having to put some sort of structure to them and also made me think about what I was recording as there was always the possibility that someone might actually be reading it! I’m not savvy or dedicated enough to think about creating a proper full-blown website so the informal and straightforward nature of a blog suited me down to the ground.

What about London inspires your blog?
I’ve lived in London, and South London at that, pretty much all my life, which makes it difficult for me to identify something ‘different’ or ‘inspirational’ about London as it’s pretty much the only environment I know. If I was to try to put my finger on something specific though I’d have to say that the blog is inspired by London’s ability to share small secrets. A city like London is basically a layer cake of styles and aspirations laid down over the centuries and however modern it appears at first glance clues to these older layers are impossible to eradicate – even if for the most part we ignore them for their irrelevance. How many people see or notice coalholes or even know what they are for? Or bootscrapers, house name-plaques and drainage vent-pipes? London is always playing peek-a-boo with the past and once you realise that the game is on it’s quite enjoyable to join in.

Read the rest on Londonist.

Leave a Reply

