“I do something that’s very narcissistic – I am a blogger”

Just got round to watching this TED talk which I spotted on Anjali‘s blog the other day and had been meaning to catch up on. It’s from 2006, and it’s Mena Trott one of the co-founders of Typepad and Moveable Type, and therefore a very young, elder-statesman of blogging. She’s a great presenter like everyone on TED and gives a very funny, warm talk about how blogs make the world friendlier. Mena makes a joke about wanting to be ‘famous on the internet’, but her anecdotes reveal it’s less about being famous and more about the connections, having a voice, and the chance to create a vibrant, living legacy of and for your family.

Even though I spend a lot of time looking at blogs with work motives in mind, and often the more serious kind, every now and then I find myself captivated by someone’s personal blog. I’m never going to RSS it – bit weird if you don’t know them – but they can be great to happen upon. And the first folder I go to on my reader is the ‘People I know’ one – somehow more tempting at 9am than ‘social media’ or ‘PR blogs’ much as I love them.

I agree with Anjali and Mena, and Mel -  who has just moved over from the US and knows everyone already, partly thanks to blogging – that blogging makes the world a smaller place in a good way, and allows us to make connections we wouldn’t have otherwise.

Anyway, it’s a great talk, suits my over-optimistic view of the internet and is pretty funny. I first discovered TED after another excellent presenter – Drew - mentioned it at the Girl Geek Dinner Birthday at Google, and it’s well worth a browse for lots of inspriring people.

A final parting shot from Mena “I do something that’s very narcissistic – I am a blogger” - so it’s a tiny bit about being famous on the internet, we admit!

TED’s on Twitter too.

4 thoughts on ““I do something that’s very narcissistic – I am a blogger”

  1. Partly to blogging? I would say *all* of it is owed to blogging (Twitter too). Granted it took at least 6 months of research and diligent work to know who to talk to when I came in February to find a job, but it paid off this summer when I finally made it over – I already had a network firmly in place.

  2. Haha, true. I meant that it’s not just blogging, it’s also because you’re nice, I think you would have made friends without a blog ;-)

    But yep, obvuiously made a huuuge difference, and also obviously involved masses of work. Totally paid off though, you’re an ex-pat blogger case-study!

Leave a Reply

