Things I learnt from Twestival

There’s a lot of posts maybe to be written about Twestival – including a big proper thank you post – but this is the first one that springs to mind…

  • 1 in 6 people in the world don’t have clean drinking water – not trying to be all worthy at you in the first point, but that’s what it was all about. Head to charity: water to find out more
  • Make contingency for the #uksnow – apologies for the queue guys
  • Geeks arrive on time, as one journalist said to me – like ALL of you. On time. Hence the queue
  • Think BIG – In terms of guests, what we can raise, media, cities. The amazing Amanda has taught me to think big
  • Next time Ben and Tim take me for a drink and ask me to get help out with something, I’ll beware!
  • I like doing charity – next up, Refugee Week with Bright One
  • Be strategic – My PR brain is still a bit junior and tactical, having Neville to bounce stuff off from a PR perspective, helped me to raise my game and ask myself why we were trying to communicate something, and to who
  • Be nice – the things that happened that were cool, people who were great, favours that impressed were both because of being nice, and done by nice people
  • I saw this quote on Twitter on Friday and thought it was cool – “Successful people are always looking for opportunities to help others. Unsuccessful people are always asking, ‘What’s in it for me?” – I hope that’s true!

I learnt an unbelieveable amount from Twestival, and jokes aside, feel really privileged to have been involved with such a cool bunch of people working so hard.

6 thoughts on “Things I learnt from Twestival

  1. You looked a bit frazzled when I saw you on the night Jaz, and I can only begin to imagine the amount of work that went into making this whole thing happen. I guess the fact it was organised at such short notice meant the odd thing wasn’t ideal – the queue, confusion over registration/drink tickets, etc.

    But from a PR point of view, for both charity:water and Twitter as a means of communication, you all did a magnificent job – illustrated by the amount of coverage the event got.

    The large majority of negative remarks I’ve read seem to have come form Twitter refuseniks who weren’t even there, and seem more concerned with stereotyping Twitter users.

    Well done everyone!

  2. First of all, thank you for all your hard work and vision that made twesival happen. For the amount of time we had to pull this off, I think everyone did very well, and attendees were very gracious and easy going about any hiccups. One interesting issue I ran into at the Seattle event was that none of the twitter users I met knew anything about charity: water! It was more of a tweetup event. Also, the who, what, when, where, why messages were slow to be communicated on the local twesival websites. I could have interested so many more people with that basic info. Going forward, I’d recommend developing materials for the twestival organizers to use. A clear concise explanation of the event, sample donation request letters, and perhaps a short video on charity: water would be so helpful! This feedback is given to help future events, and not meant to criticize or devalue you or the internation twestival teams’ hard work. Cheering you on, Amber

  3. Thanks Stu, Ben and Becky 🙂

    Amber – thanks for stopping by. The points you raised about the city events are valid, and definitely something we’ll be looking at coordinating more slickly next time. We did provide a lots of these materials for cities, but appreciate how much everyone had to do in such a short space of time – as did we!

    We were amazed at how many cities came forward to get involved, and are looking forward to working with them more in the ways you describe next time!

    Thanks 🙂

  4. Pingback: Twestival Raises Over $250K and Counting « Jazamatazz

Leave a Reply

