The London Blogger Interviews #17: Another Nickel in the Machine

A cool mixture of music and recent history inspires the wonderful Another Nickel in the Machine. It’s a great blog to get lost in tales of London from hippies to rockstars, suffragettes to pea-soupers, so we caught up with Rob to find out more.


No. 1 Eaton Square* where the infamous Lord Boothby, erstwhile lover of Ronnie Kray, lived.

If you had to describe your blog in less than 15 words how would you do it?
A gossipy history blog about 20th century London with lots of music and pictures.

Why did you start blogging?

I started blogging initially intending to write a music blog – hence the name which comes from a line from my favourite song ‘One For My Baby’ by Frank Sinatra. I had a big CD and vinyl collection and thought I’d try and share some of it. After a while I realised that I had started to write about music and its connection with London. A few posts later and I realised it was recent London history that I was fascinated with. I still usually include relevant music in all my posts though.

What about London inspires your blog?

The extraordinary amount of stories that I can write about. It will be impossible to run out of them.

Read the rest on Londonist.

Leave a Reply

