The London Blogger Interviews #19: Stockwell News

A shining example of a local-area blog this week in the excellent Stockwell News. Providing a great resource of travel, in-depth news as well as local history and anecdotes including everyone from Houdini to the mysterious Rosemary Brown.

Stockwell News.jpg

If you had to describe your blog in less than 15 words how would you do it?
News, information and history about the SW9 and SW8 areas of London. It does what is says on the tin. And although I might post the odd picture of a rainbow over Stockwell, I am not big on whimsy or musings.

Why did you start blogging?
I wanted to put old family diaries and letters on the net and was looking for a free way to do it. Later it struck me that after the Jean Charles de Menezes killing and other local events there was no immediate source of local news and information. The South London Press, although great as a local paper, does not cover neighbourhoods in the depth that it once did and that Stockwell people appear to want.

What about London inspires your blog?
I just post stuff I personally would like to know about! So, in general, although I don’t put much of my personal life in the blog, I do follow my own interests. If there is a major crime, for instance, I would like to know something about it. Equally, if there is something useful, interesting, curious or just fun, I would like to know about that too.

Read the rest on Londonist.

Leave a Reply

