The London Blogger Interviews #21: The Top Floor Flat

This week we have Meaghan Fitzgerald of The Top Floor Flat, a San Franciscan expat-blogger, providing a resident- but fresh view on the city. Using her blog to document her life here, keep in touch with home, and make new connections in London.

TopFloorFlat.jpg


If you had to describe your blog in less than 15 words how would you do it?

American living in the UK, blogging about London, the local tech scene, travel and tea.

Why did you start blogging?

I moved to London with no job or place to live after I graduated from university in the States. I wanted to keep my family and friends up to date with my life abroad but as I’ve settled down here, I’ve found that even readers beyond my immediate family are interested in reading about unique perspectives on London.

What about London inspires your blog?

It’s a combination of the city’s history, the amazing entertainment scene, and the local technology scene. I studied English literature in college so I get really excited about things such as seeing plays at the Globe or visiting Poets Corner in Westminster Abbey. Here in London I’m lucky to be working for Spoonfed, a local web startup and guide to things to do in London, so I often have the chance to discover and attend some of the incredibly unique events in the city such as Shoot London 2009 or the International Buddhist Film Festival. Finally, working for a startup and having grown up in the Silicon Valley, I’ve tried to get involved in the local tech scene and a lot of those experiences appear on my blog as reviews of London tech meetups such as Open Soho.

Read the rest on Londonist.

Leave a Reply

